218-

10 May

There have been many times in my life that I’ve been called goth. Thanks to my penchant for black clothing and my desire to write songs about morbid subject matters. But in all truth it was a while before I got deep into gothic music. Other than some Siouxsie and the Banshees and a little Bauhaus, I knew nothing about goth music as a teen. According to wikipedia, I got in on gothic rock in the third generation. I picked it up listening to bands like Switchblade Symphony, London After Midnight, the Cruxshadows, and Xmal Deutschland. Xmal would actually be part of the 2nd generation but I was late on the bandwagon. As with a lot of the goth bands (and the darkwave bands too), I tended to center on bands with female singers as I enjoyed the counterpoint between the female voice and the darker sounds. Xmal was no exception with the great vocals of Anja Huwe.

Song 218- “Matador” by X-Mal Deutschland

And don’t forget to check out the other 10kdays journals! Glenn! Rachael! Andy! Heuristics Inc!, Troy! and Roymond!

Leave a Reply

