234-

27 May

Yesterday was a bad day. Not only did I miss a day of 10kdays but I was sick with a bad migraine and one of my guinea pigs passed on. In honor of the bad times, here’s one of the saddest songs I can think of. On Halloween of 2005, the band Bayside was in a bad car accident. Their drummer “Beatz” Holohan was killed when their tour van hit a patch of ice and flipped over. The first single off the first album of new Bayside material since the crash is the song Song 234- “Duality” by Bayside. It’s extremely personal and lyrically stunning once you know what the band has been through:

Some days
I get crazed
I don’t know why it’s all relevant
I’ll take deep breaths
And keep control, go on.

I’ve tried brave
And you’ve tried to save
I’m proud to keep it bottled up
I think I past my prime and lost my mind and I’m torn.

No telling what tomorrow holds.
Who let, who let this feeling die, when all I did was try?
Who let, you let this feeling die,
I can’t get you out of my head, my head.
You’re the flame that burns me so I know that I’m still alive.

Some say
It’s all fate
but I say we control our lives
And if my destiny should outbest me then that’s fine.
I make believe thrill and apathy co-exist in me fairly equally

The truth is doubts are all I’ve got to call mine.

No telling what tomorrow holds.
No telling what voice takes control.
Who let, who let this feeling die, when all I did was try?
Who let, you let this feeling die,
I can’t get you out of my head, my head.
And you’re the flame that burns me so I know that I’m still alive.

Is there anybody out there (out there)
Is anybody calling (anybody calling)
Woaahh, if what i say is really wrong
Is there anybody out there (out there)
Is anybody calling (anybody calling)
Woooah, if what you say is really wrong.
I’m not in control, I think I’m out of control

Who let, who let this feeling die, when all I did was try?
Who let, you let this feeling die,
I can’t get you out of my head, my head.
And you’re the flame that burns me so I know that I’m still alive.

And don’t forget to check out the other 10kdays journals! Glenn! Rachael! Andy! Heuristics Inc!, Troy! and Roymond!

And check out my internet radio show:
The Other Night I Dreamt of Knives

Leave a Reply

