Bonus

8 Aug

A new feature to 10kdays…

My friend Iram wants to get in on the action but doesn’t want all the dirty work of a giant super blog, so she’ll be popping in from time to time with what I’m calling an Iram Extra. This is where she picks a song that she links and then we discuss.

“Three Strange Days” by School of Fish

Niv: Why did you choose that song? I can remember my old best friend coming over one weekend and introducing me to that album. I can recall a long weekend in JHS of listening to School of Fish, Material Issue and the Soup Dragons.

Iram: ***distracted*** ok cool – sorry typing this while punching in “Valerie Loves Me” in youtube search – so I heard 3 Strange Days randomly and loved it. Not much backstory I’m afraid.

Niv: And what made you think of it again. Frankly I had just about forgotten about it. It’s not like a “Valerie Loves Me” which had a very notable riff and also got covered (and butchered) by Hole. Three Strange Days kinda disappeared into the musical ether after Josh Clayton-Felt died. So what made you think of it?

Iram: It’s on my ipod so it’s always playing during my morning or evening commute, and when I thought of teenage fanclub I thought about other music from that era that didn’t get enough attention – hence, school of fish. I guess the train of thought started with teenage fanclub which was mentioned somewhere in something recently.

Niv: Did you ever get to hear anything else from School of Fish? I was always partial to “Euphoria”.

Iram: I may have hear more stuff by them back then but I was constantly on the hunt for new music. There were only a handful of bands whose music my friends and I followed with true devotion.

Niv: Who earned your true devotion?

Iram: Will review my cd collection and get back to you on that one.

And so it begins….

Leave a comment