419

16 Dec

The end of April and start of May was the football theme at 10kdays. Then came the tribute to Germnay where I talked about bands like Atari Teenage Riot, MDFMK and Elvis (it was nowhere near type of theme I did for Japan). And then I had some fun with my old cassette collection, digging up stuff like October Project and Joan Jett. I started doing my radio show- the Other Night I Dreamt of Knives (which I had to stop because of space issues). I started June by going on vacation to Pennsylvania. Then I returned with a theme about the Sophmore Jinx that lasted a day before I started the craziest theme of the year- 10kdays A to Z. That was the stream of consciousness one that went kinda like this…

So I started the theme writing about Asian Kung Fu Generation that plays J-rock like the band Jinn. Jinn has an album called Lemmings. Lemmings is a videogame by the same company that did the game Wipeout. Wipeout 64’s soundtrack included the Propellerheads. Their first hit was History Repeating which featured Shirley Bassey. Bassey sang on 3 bond themes. Garbage sang one, the theme for the World is not Enough. In that movie Denise Richards played Dr. Christmas Jones. Christmas is on December 25th, which is also the birthdate of Hailie Mathers, the daughter of Marshall Mathers aka Eminem.

Song 419- “Like Toy Soldiers” by Eminem

And don’t forget to check out the other 10kdays journals! Glenn! Rachael! Andy! Heuristics Inc!, Troy!, Albatross! , Alex!, Lord of Oats!, Susana! and Rabid!

Leave a Reply

