423-

20 Dec

So this is the part where I would list my top 10 songs of the year. But then I came to the conclusion that this has been the year where I really didn’t pay much attention to what year songs came out. I usually pick up new music out of the blogosphere. This year I hunted down a lot more music, as I searched for new things on my own (for instance- J-Rock). So, I don’t think I can fairly do a top 10 songs of 2007 list. But instead I am just going to post over the next 10 days about 10 of the songs I have really enjoyed this year without putting them into any formal list or whatnot.


I don’t know where I stumbled upon the band, the Veils. They’re a band from New Zealand whose album Nux Vomica came out in 2006 but was released in 2007. The band has a variety of sounds. The one that sticks out to me is when they go into brutal bluesy rock. It fills the hole in my listening left when the Afghan Whigs broke up. The song that I chose for today is without a doubt the most impassioned song I have ever heard this year. The vocal delivery by The Veils’ lead singer Finn Andrews is nothing short of possession. If Regan MacNeil had a theme song, this would be it.

Song 423- “Jesus for the Jugular” by the Veils

And don’t forget to check out the other 10kdays journals! Glenn! Rachael! Andy! Heuristics Inc!, Troy!, Albatross! , Alex!, Lord of Oats!, Susana! and Rabid!

Leave a Reply

