570-

31 May

We have reached the number 16 in 10kdays’ Music by Numbers theme. And what song do I go with? Unlike the troubles I had with 15, I’m ready to go with 16. Now, my first thought was “Molly” by Sponge with the classic line “Sixteen Candles down the drain” but guess what? I’ve already done that song back at #331. So what do I do? I am tempted to write about Tennessee Ernie Ford’s “Sixteen Tons”. I always liked him on “I Love Lucy” but I think I can find something else to post about. I’m definitely not going for Ringo Starr. Ah, I know what I’ll do. I’ll stick with Sixteen Candles and go for Fall Out Boy. They’re a strange enigma to me. I should hate them with a passion. They are the fodder of the teen mags. They’ve got Pete Wentz who married Ashley Simpson and has dirty pics online. They got dissed by Kanye West on their own song. They have ridiculous song titles. They are the epitome of emo. I should hate them on principle alone, but every once in a while they come out with a song that’s really catchy and has some good stuff to it and they are sparred my unending hatred. But if Pete and Ashley have a sex tape, game over. PS- This has a great video, full of vampires. It’s what won me over.

Song 570- “A Little Less ‘Sixteen Candles’, A Little More ‘Touch Me'” by Fall Out Boy

Leave a Reply

