574-

4 Jun

I’ve made it to 20 and I’m gonna keep going until the Music by Numbers theme beats me. Now, the first thought I had was the song “I Box Twenty” by To Kill a Petty Bourgeoisie. But finding a copy of that song is a struggle. So then my next choice is Matchbox Twenty. And honestly, there is a lot of songs by Matchbox 20 that I dislike. But I think it’s because they are just way too middle of the road for me. But Rob Thomas is a good lyricist. Look at the song “How Far We’ve Come”:

I think it turned ten o’clock but I don’t really know
And I can’t remember caring for an hour or so
Started crying and I couldn’t stop myself
I started running but there’s no where to run to
I sat down on the street took a look at myself
Said where you going man you know the world is headed for hell
Say your goodbyes if you’ve got someone you can say goodbye to

I believe the world is burning to the ground
Oh well I guess we’re gonna find out
Let’s see how far we’ve come
Let’s see how far we’ve come

Well I, believe, it all, is coming to an end
Oh well, I guess, we’re gonna pretend,
Let’s see how far we’ve come
Let’s see how far we’ve come

It’s not the most complex song lyrically but it has a simple brilliance. I can hate on their adult oriented rock style but Rob Thomas does write a good song and on occasion, it comes together in a way that I do enjoy.

Song 574- “How Far We’ve Come” by Matchbox Twenty

Leave a Reply

