709

21 Oct

The Then and Now theme continues with a Now post. Yesterday, I posted about They Eat Their Own and a well written song with amazing female vocals. That style of song never tires with me. So today, I will talk about a singer called Russian Red. Information on her is a tad scarce on the web but here’s what I can gather up. Her name is Lourdes Hernandez and she’s from Spain. She’s got an album on Eureka Records called “I Love Your Glasses”. And that’s all I know. Correction, the only other thing I know is that her music is great. It has this Joanna Newsom feel to it with her vocal inflections. But it’s not as refined. It’s simple well-done folk tunes with great lyrics and delivery.

Song 709- “Cigarettes” by Russian Red

Leave a Reply

