734

16 Nov

We have now reached the end of our look at the work of Howard Greenhalgh and now for my favorite of his videos. From the moment I first saw this video, I thought it was the coolest thing ever. And back then NBC had a show called Friday Night Videos and they had a battle of the videos contest where you could call in and vote between two songs and the one with the most votes would get played the next week. My best friend at the time and I would call relentless for this video. And here’s the thing, Friday Night Videos didn’t have the best phone line system so you could often get a busy signal (it wasn’t like American Idol, remember this was the early 90’s). My friend and I often got through (meaning elsewhere people were suffering through busy signals) and the results was 6 straight weeks of glorious watching of Soundgarden and crazy distorted faces in the middle of night. Here it is, my favorite Howard Greenhalgh made video:

Song 734- “Black Hole Sun” by Soundgarden

Note: There are too versions of this video. One tones down the CGI. Why the hell would you watch that version? They took out the Sun!

Leave a Reply

