786

12 Jan

South America is my next stop on this World Rock Women theme and I’m heading straight to Brazil where Rock music has thrived there for years. I feel like it’s a shame that with so much music being made there, none is proliferates to North America simply because of a language barrier. Then again, there are Brazilian bands who sing in English and thusly, there is no real excuse. There’s only the odd barrier that falls between countries and their musical culture. Sigh. I digress. Brazil has a ton of different styles of rock music. They have a big punk scene and they have one of the world’s most dynamic metal scenes. But today, I’m going to focus on something else I stumbled upon.

In my search for a band to write about, I stumbled upon a solo artist by the name of Cibelle, from Sao Paulo. Cibelle describes her sound as “tropical punk”. Well, I didn’t find any of that in my initial look into her music. But what I did find was something I found very fascinating. She has a cover of the Tom Waits song “Green Grass”. It’s an amazingly compelling piece of work. It’s as if Tom Waits was done by Kelly Clarkson (a la “Irvine”, not anything else). Where as Scarlett Johannson on her cover of the song sped it up and cleaned up the lyrical delivery, Cibelle slows it down and makes it very atmospheric. And to put the cherry on top, there’s a music video done in rotoscope. Rotoscope! Like “Take on Me”. That’s a winner if I ever came across one.

Cibelle

Song 786- “Green Grass” by Cibelle

Leave a Reply

