802

29 Jan

Remember that for this theme, there is an underlying connection between the four songs (as inspired by Podquiz).

Last year brought the world what was supposed to be the big return of REM. They released the album “Accelerate” and it was touted as the big comeback for the Athens, GA band. The last real big hit they had was the song “Imitation of Life” in 2001. Did the album hit? I don’t really think so. Nothing ever impressed me. Songs like “Supernatural Superserious” and “Living Well is the Best Revenge” did nothing for me. The reviewers out there thought the album was a work of genius but for me, I prefer old school R.E.M. and I don’t just mean “Automatic for the People” and “Out of Time”, the big early 90’s hits. I spend a chunk of teenhood exploring the early part of the R.E.M. catalog and finding a few gems that I enjoyed. That included…

Song 802- “So. Central Rain” by R.E.M.

Leave a Reply

