824

21 Feb

Sorry about yesterday. It was a busy day and I could’ve sworn that I had done 10kdays. Anyways, I’m back and here is the last post in my James Bond theme. And I have saved my favorite theme for last. It’s the one that inspired my love of Bond themes. When it comes to James Bond, you can’t really get into Bond when you’re a little kid. Sure, he’s a spy with neat gadgets but you don’t get the full scope of things until you’re older. That’s how it was for me and Bond. Since I’m only 31, that means that I didn’t get into Bond stuff until the 90’s. And it took me a while to get into the Bond music. I was still in the “check out all the chicks he’s scoring” phase. “Tomorrow Never Dies” was the first theme to catch my interest but the one that made me take a deeper interest in what Bond themes was all about was the next one in line. Done by Garbage, it’s my favorite because it blurs the line between the various styles of James Bond theme. It has the old school torch song feel thanks to Shirley Manson’s delivery and the instrumentation. Yet that same instrumentation also feels timely and would better compare with themes like Duran Duran’s “A View to a Kill”. For me, this screams out James Bond. Spies, Lust, Intrigue, Espionage, and Villains who want it all because the world is not enough.

Song 824- “The World is Not Enough” by Garbage

Next post begins a new theme, the return of the stream of conscious!

Leave a Reply

