834

3 Mar

Lyrics are often a place where you find WTFs. Sometimes it’s just a mondegreen but there are definite times where the lyrics make you wonder what the band was thinking when they choose the phrases. For instance, I heard Damien Rice’s “The Professor” for the first time today and there was a whole set of lyrics about a wooden dick that left me scratching my head. Songfighter Inevitable Guy introduced me to a song by the Dismemberment Plan about a relationship that suddenly breaks into a line about a book on fighter jets for no apparent reason. That reminded me of a big WTF.

Dillinger Escape Plan, WTF.

I love the music and energy of the Dillinger Escape Plan, but I have to ask WTF when it comes to the song that is probably their best known song, “Unretrofied”. The lyrics are crazy and the chorus is one of the oddest ones I’ve ever heard. So how exactly are the “Wood paneled wagon carpool dragons” killing you again? It’s supposed to be some sort of metaphor but it’s written in such an odd way and it comes at you without warning, making it completely worthy of a WTF. And what does it mean to be “Unretrofied” anyway?

Yet I still dig the song.

Song 834- “Unretrofied” by the Dillinger Escape Plan

Leave a Reply

