871

12 Apr

I’ve come to the conclusion that doing this history theme is going to last for a long long time. Think about it, it’s been going on for quite a while and I’m only on the 19th Century and as time moves on, there are going to be more things to talk about. I’ll admit that I am in no way a history guy. I’m learning about all this stuff as I go along. I think that’s why I’m sticking with this. It is such a learning experience and relating it all to the music that I love is such a challenge. And the challenge continues.

Yesterday I talked about the rise of the Hittites. That was the beginning of a culture but at the same time, we reached the end of another very significant culture. The 19th Century BC also marks the end of Sumeria. Between a shift in the agriculture of the time and a takeover by the Amorites, Sumeria would become history. There would be tons of things left behind that would influence future generations, such as their language (which would evolve into Latin) as well as their writing and literature. But this would mark a very significant moment, this was the end of a superpower of the time.

Song 871- “I Disappear” by Metallica

And so goes Sumeria into the annals of history.

Speaking of which, Metallica may have their quirks. Their artist rights stand can sometimes come off as a grandstand. They may be looked at by some as the perfect example of the sell-out. And don’t get me started on “Some Kind of Monster” or the hazing of Jason Newstead. No matter what, the music they make has always been exceptional and when it came time for them to be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, I was glued to the screen. I grew up in a time where the badge of honor for a guitarist wasn’t knowing how to play “Stairway to Heaven”. It was knowing how to play “One”. Metallica is a piece of rock history and they deserved their spot in that hall. Congrats, Metallica.

Leave a Reply

