990

3 Sep

I woke up today and for some reason I knew exactly what song was meant for today’s post. In looking back at songs for the blip.fm, I found all these songs that I haven’t listened to. One such song is by Fiona Apple. I can remember when I first heard her. I was up late at night, watching MTV’s 120 Minutes. That was such a great show. In the 2nd hour, they had such an uncommon playlist. The 1st hour had some of the hits, but after 1AM they let loose and one of those things they played was this young ingenue singing and playing piano in a very simple black and white music video. I don’t know what was my initial attraction- the soulfulness of her singing, the simple cool of the video or the lips. Okay, I’ll admit the lips had a large part in the initial appeal but the song was cool enough that I was determined to seek out more. I soon bought Tidal and have never looked back. Great album.

Song 990- “Shadowboxer” by Fiona Apple

Leave a Reply

