1014

16 Oct

Today, I heard about a very cool thing. The Simpsons are holding a contest in which one lucky person will get to make up a character and have it placed into the Simpsons universe. That’s spectacular. The Simpsons may be 20 years old now but they have never failed when it comes to character creation. Year after year, they churn out brilliant new additions to the ranks of Springfield. For instance they recently parodied Hannah Montana. They got Ellen Page to do the voice work and created Alaska Nebraska. That leads me to something else….

…a sad sad admittance.

So, the other day I was listening to my favorite podcast Wingmen The Series (www.bite.ca/radio). At the end of every episode, they arbitrarily pick a song to play. Usually, it’s something they heard in the club over the weekend that got stuck in their heads. Little did I know that a song that they got stuck in their heads would quickly get stuck in mine. It’s the work of a guy named Dr. Luke. He’s a songwriter extraordinare. He knows how to write a pop hit. Songs like I enjoy like Kelly Clarkson’s “Since You’ve Been Gone”, Pink’s “Who Knew” and Lady Sovereign’s “Love Me or Hate Me” all benefited from his pen. The song I heard at the end of that podcast would be another one…

…little did I know that I would be enjoying a Miley Cyrus song.

Damn you Dr. Luke! Damn you! Some smart lyrics and some autotune and tada. Hooked. (Though I will admit that I am disturbed by the underage girl singing about “moving (her) hips like yeah”.)

Song 1014- “Party in the U.S.A.” by Miley Cyrus

I just wish the song was more metal…like:
“And an Ozzy song was on/ And an Ozzy song was on/ So I threw the horns up/
They’re playing my song/ Ain’t nobody safe today/ Mosh in the pit, hell yeah/ Kicking some shit, hell yeah…”

Leave a Reply

