1059

5 Jan

I’m going to step away from the music video directors for a little while and look at another aspect of music. Right now, I find myself very curious about the state of what popular music is. Growing up, I was joining at the hip to my radio, so I could listen to Casey’s Top 40. Every weekend, I would write down the top 40 songs of the week. I would tape my favorites on cassette. Things are different now of course, but I still check out the charts on occasion and the musical landscape has changed since when I was growing up. One part of that change that I don’t really get is- where is the rock? I used to turn on the Top 40 and I would hear metal bands, grunge bands…now it’s a lot more R&B and rap focused. Rock music and heavy metal still makes money and has fans around the world, yet still very few hard rocking songs are cracking the top 40. It just doesn’t add up to me. In the meantime, I’m taking solace wherever I can. For instance- Orianthi. She was going to be Michael Jackson’s guitarist and she has the seal of approval from guitar gods like Steve Vai & Carlos Santana. Not only that, it’s a pop song with an f’n guitar solo. We need more of those.

Song 1059- “According to You” by Orianthi

Leave a Reply

