1081

20 Nov

By the time I turned 10 years old, music had become important to me. I started finding bands that I cared about and songs that I wanted to own and listen to again and again. I spent a lot of time watching music videos on late night television shows (Friday Night Videos on NBC!) and recording them through the wonderful magic of the VCR. So when it came time to do this post, I found myself with a lot more choices than previous days. One of the people whose videos I used to watch was George Harrison. His album, Cloud Nine, came out just before my tenth birthday and included fun songs like “I’ve Got My Mind Set On You” & “When We Was Fab”. The day after my birthday was the release date for the Less Than Zero Soundtrack. Now, I knew little to nothing about that Rob Lowe flick but it was such a phenomenal soundtrack. There was Public Enemy’s “Bring The Noise”; the Bangles “Hazy Shade of Winter”; and LL Cool J’s “Going Back to Cali” all on one album. And at the end of October of that year, George Michael released his solo debut. Say what you will about George Michael, I always thought this album had a lot going for it, from the sparse cool swagger of “Faith” to the soul of songs like “One More Try” & “Father Figure” to the danceable “Monkey” and the jazzy “Kissing a Fool”.

But when it comes to me and that time, I have to think about the band INXS. In October of 1987, they released the album “Kick”. As a kid, I was obsessed with that album. I used to go to Blockbuster and rent the video collection time and time again. It was an album that I could enjoy from top to bottom (maybe skipping Wild Life every once in a while). So many great songs like “Need You Tonight”, “Mediate” (I thought that video was brilliant back then since I had no clue who Bob Dylan was), “The Loved One”, and “Devil Inside”. Much to my surprise, I have only posted one INXS song in this blog and it wasn’t from this album. So many good songs. I don’t know which one to post, so I’m just going to go with the title track.

Song 1081- “Kick” by INXS

Leave a Reply

