1090

28 Nov

When it came to seeing concerts I was a little late to the dance. Other than Hot Tuna playing at my junior high school, I had never gone to a concert until 1995. I may have waited a long time but I started off strong with a PJ Harvey show. And to make it even better, the opening band was Tricky. I was amazed by Tricky. My sister worked at his record company and I got the CD before the show and loved the sound. It mixed soul with alternative while using samples and male/female vocal interplay. There was so much going on and all of it pulling from different musical inspirations. I didn’t know what to expect when it came to the performance. What I saw was mindblowing. It was the loudest thing I had ever heard it my life (and for quite a long time I kept that belief) and it was so aggressive and primal.

Somehow, I completely missed Tricky’s 2nd album (honestly, I didn’t know about the Nearly God album until about 15 minutes ago). But I didn’t miss his third- Pre Millennium Tension, which was released shortly after my birthday in November of 1996. Again, I didn’t know what to expect and I wasn’t disappointed. I came across the first single while watching late night MTV and was overtaken by the beat. It was based around a guitar riff playing over a Doug E. Fresh sample. Then came in some crazy soundscaping before Tricky & Martina Topley-Bird begin their interplay. No piece is overly complex but when put together, the result is tremendous. Here is a live video of the song. I know there’s a music video but Tricky puts on a great performance.

Song 1090- “Christiansands” by Tricky

Leave a Reply

