1095

3 Dec

2001 was an… interesting time for music. You’ve got Britney Spears and all the pop music that followed suit. Then you have the rise of that strange rap hybrid known as nu metal. Let’s just look at it this way. According to Soundscan, the top 10 albums of 2010 included works by Linkin Park, Enya, J-Lo, Destiny’s Child & Staind. Music was f’n all over the place, trying to find its identity post millennium. By the time my birthday came around, things were even wackier since we were in a post millennium, post 9-11 world.

Thankfully even when things get crazy, we always have Mike Patton. The ringleader of Faith No More, Fantomas, Peeping Tom & Mr. Bungle presented another of his many projects at the end of October of 2001- Tomahawk. As wild and quirky as the others, the first Tomahawk album examined the mind of a serial killer and produced an incredible song that I picked for today

Song 1095: “God Hates A Coward” by Tomahawk

One Response to “1095”

  1. valleyofsteel December 5, 2011 at 6:10 am #

    Thanks for sharing this. About a month earlier- just barely two weeks past 9/11- I witnessed Fantômas live. They were touring in support of The Directors Cut, and opening for Tool on their first jaunt around the country after Lateralis.

    It was my first time seeing either band, but my first time even hearing Fantômas, so I really didn’t know what to expect- since Faith No More is one of my favorite bands ever, though I’ve always hated Mr Bungle. As it turns out, I was really surprised at how awesome the show was, and later I found that the studio recorded versions of the songs were really good too.

    I would really have a difficult time articulating exactly what the difference is between Mr Bungle and Fantômas, much less why I liked one but not the other (and I doubt it has anything to do with replacing half of Mr Bungle with members of two other bands I happen to really like a lot…).

    Anyway, around that time, I became aware of Ipecac Records and Tomahawk, but never was able to find anything to hear (this was right around the death of Napster, but before Youtube or Bandcamp or any of the great tools we have available now), so I’ve never had the chance to decide whether I like this band or not.

Leave a Reply

