1103

12 Dec

We have reached 2009 and the song I’m choosing for today is a song that has really stuck with me. The song was released on Flyleaf’s Memento Mori album in November of 2009. I’m not sure if I first heard the song in 2009 or 2010 but it’s about to be 2011 and I can say without a shadow of a doubt that it’s the song that I’ve played the most this year. It’s kinda strange how much I find myself enjoying the music of a Christian Rock band. I may have been raised in that faith but I certainly don’t identify with it. But I find that despite the differing viewpoints, I can find their faith admirable. It’s kinda of like wearing your heart on your sleeve. When you hear a song where the artist uses something personal to them to drive the song, even if you don’t personally relate to it, you can relate to the emotions. Same here. Though, I have to state that the song I chose tonight, “Missing”, it’s as lay it on thick as some of their other songs like “Fully Alive” or “All Around Me”. It’s more of an undertone here. Beyond the God stuff, let’s not forget that Flyleaf is a very good band which includes the great vocal wailing of Lacey Sturm and the exceptional  basswork of Pat Seals. Altogether, it adds up to probably my favorite song of 2011 that didn’t come out in 2011. What was my favorite song of 2011? I’ll start my year end theme later this week.

Song 1103: “Missing” by Flyleaf

Leave a Reply

